TED Talk: Ken Robinson: Changing education paradigms

A colleague posted this video on her Facebook site and I wanted to share it. I couldn’t get it out of my head. I’m not prepared to comment on this video, yet; maybe as it settles in my grey matter a bit more.

The video can be found here and the site describes the video as a “talk from RSA Animate, [in which] Sir Ken Robinson lays out the link between 3 troubling trends: rising drop-out rates, schools’ dwindling stake in the arts, and ADHD. An important, timely talk for parents and teachers.”

I would be interested in your thoughts about Ken Robinson’s talk.

3 thoughts on “TED Talk: Ken Robinson: Changing education paradigms

  1. Sir Ken is definitely a forward thinker! This is an amazing video, that is spot on about a lot of things that aren’t working in education. The ADHD bit particularly resonated with me as I was misdiagnosed as a 2nd grader and was medicated until senior year of high school. Weird, I made it through undergraduate, had a successful career, and now in graduate school with no attention medication! If a kid is bored, medicate them, if a kid has a lot of energy, medicate him, and make sure you don’t teach to his learning style instead…that’s way more difficult! I won’t go on a rant…but very interesting video!

Leave a Reply

